Play Piano Today With Dr. J

Practice and Performance – the two “P” words

Posted on: October 27, 2009

It has been several months since I have updated my Play Piano Today with Dr. J blog.  The reason?  The two “P” words.  I have been focused on practice and performance!  In the other part of my music career, I am a concert organist – and that means hours of daily practice leading to performances of great music in all parts of the world.

In the past few weeks I have performed an organ music and visual event called “From Sea to Shining Sea” in Pacific City, Oregon and had the privilege of dedicating a new organ at the Shepherd of the Sierra Lutheran Church in Carson City, Nevada.  Yes, two totally different programs on two totally different organs. Both were exciting and great fun to perform.  You can check out my other musical life at www.promotionmusic.org and read more on my Pro-Motion Music Blog.

So, keep up the practice!  so the other “P” word – performance will be part of your musical vocabulary.

 

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • freeonlinemusiclessons: Hey nice blog. I just picked up you RSS FEEDS. Check out my new website, you’ll like it! http://freeonlinemusiclessons.com
  • bhundley1: I'm interested in your elaborating on the "fingering" aspect of practice. Are you a fan of Czerny, for instance, in terms of building up dexterity wi
  • promotionmusic: Thanks for your response. Congratulations to you on the work you are doing in the piano world.

Categories

