Play Piano Today With Dr. J

The Experience of Recording Piano Practice Sessions and Piano Performances

Posted on: June 29, 2009

Speaking from personal experience, I would much rather play for a live audience then have a recording made of my piano performance. Something about turning on a recording device puts my nerves on edge a bit.  My mind keeps turning over the fact that the recording can be heard again – and again – and again, whereas a live performance is heard once and gone.  It is but a memory in my mind.

I have, however, found the recording of my piano practice sessions at once eye or ear-opening and productive.  Oh, and did I mention, humbling?  In my undergraduate days I carried with me to nearly every practice session a cassette recorder.  I practiced in what I thought was a careful and diligent manner, then recorded my efforts hoping to match what my mind told me I had just mastered.

Often the recorded “performance” of that practice session’s goals was in reality far from the lofty piano sounds my mind had created.  That little recorder, though, did not discourage but encouraged me.  I continued practicing the piano and worked to discover more creative ways to shorten the practice time needed. Finally I heard in reality what my mind had been playing long before the fingers could create the sound on the piano.

Leave a Reply

    • freeonlinemusiclessons: Hey nice blog. I just picked up you RSS FEEDS. Check out my new website, you’ll like it! http://freeonlinemusiclessons.com
    • bhundley1: I'm interested in your elaborating on the "fingering" aspect of practice. Are you a fan of Czerny, for instance, in terms of building up dexterity wi
    • promotionmusic: Thanks for your response. Congratulations to you on the work you are doing in the piano world.

    Categories

